AWS Tutorial Complete

The AWS tutorial for the documentation is complete. It walks users through setting up an AWS account and AWS EC2 instance and getting Rutilus running on it. After getting some feedback from my team mate, I adjusted it to be more user friendly to those running Windows, providing them instructions on using PuTTY since they can’t use SSH, and spent more time explaining a a few concepts like what exactly a “private key” is for SSH.

Because I didn’t have my Windows laptop on me at work when I did this, I wasn’t able to provide screenshots of using PuTTY (like I did for the instance creation process, which has a clear screenshot example for every step), so I plan on adding those when I have access to Windows at work.

I also briefly investigated other cloud platforms for Rutilus. Google Cloud Platform (GCP) is gaining popularity, especially in the world of AWS users seeking a more modern and less expensive alternative. I could do an entire blog post about my experience playing with GCP both at work and at home with personal stuff. But in short, it’s very developer friendly, designed around a REST API that you can use to script 100% of what you do, its user interface is minimal and to the point compared to AWS, and they offer a much easier to understand variety of instances at a lower cost. Because those instances support Docker, Rutilus will work fine on GCP. And indeed it does. I got it running in minutes, using the same technique I used in the AWS tutorial.

AWS is still our preferred option for a tutorial for new users in our documentation, because the free tier lets them run it free for a year. GCP has a different idea of what to give away for free. They have no free tier, no GCP products are available for free after one year. They give you $300 USD and two months to use it on whatever you like, after which every product will bill you. We’ll be continuing to focus on AWS as the platform of choice for the Rutilus tutorials.

Leave a Reply

