Getting Good at Git

Git has turned out to be so much more useful than I ever could have imagined. Today I again spent my time mostly learning as we started creating the back end system. We’re using WebStorm for a Node.js/Express.js project and I got to test my new Git knowledge and see how it all fits together. I can safely say my days of sharing code by tossing a USB drive or uploading a zip to Dropbox are over.

The tables in our plan for the back end are numerous, meaning many routes are needed, which I created today, while my team mate worked on unit testing and using some tricks he’s used before to streamline the code we’ll have to write for each route. Node.js concepts like middleware, promises, and generators are things he’s using to make our code look cleaner and reduce the amount of it we’ll have to write.

Leave a Reply

